A Curly-Haired Conservative


Thanks to these lovely things called genetics, I have curly hair. Really, really curly hair. While some people find this enchanting or enviable, I find it just plain annoying. I have fought my curls tooth and nail for the better part of the last 10-plus years, at times spending upwards of an hour to straighten my locks and one-up the curse of nature.

Or, at least, I used to.

Then the 2008 elections came up, and before I knew it, I was busier than a one-armed paperhanger, trying to keep up with all of the breaking news and then get the info disseminated on my marriage blog.

And suddenly I couldn’t fathom spending upwards of an hour on something as trivial as my hair. Suddenly perspective crept in, and my priorities realigned. Suddenly something so superficial really didn’t matter – and instead of fighting the curl, I embraced it.

Likewise, I’ve embraced how perfectly my interests and personality suit being a political watchdog. Being a political wonk and a patriot is in my blood. I’ve loved America and its Constitution with passion since childhood (no, really – I memorized the Preamble via song on my own at age 5!). This lifelong passion propelled me into majoring in American Studies for my undergrad. Meanwhile, a girl’s got to eat, so I also majored in print journalism. Although my career path’s veered into marketing, I still approach blogging and storytelling from a journalist’s perspective, researching primary sources, examining both sides of issues before drawing a conclusion.

Being a former journalist also makes me somewhat jaded when it comes to the mainstream media. I’ve been in the trenches. I know that I was one of a small handful of conservative reporters in the newsroom – and that was in Orange County, Southern California’s bastion of conservatism. I’ve also been on the PR side of things, and I’ve seen a journalist’s personal anti-development stance completely burn a client. Journalists need to step away from their biases and let people draw their own conclusions from the facts.

Bloggers, on the other hand, get to blend their views with the facts, and that’s what I hope to bring to the table. My opinions run deep and are strong, but they’re backed up with research, logic, and life experience. In my opinion, conservatives are the pragmatists with open eyes who get down to brass tacks, as opposed to those who have been called “starry-eyed liberals,” choosing to prey on emotion rather than dealing in fact, touting programs that sound benevolent in theory but which generate truly evil results. Yes, evil is a strong word, but it is the right word to describe what amounts to taking that which some have earned to give to those who have not. It is the right word for programs that limit the freedom of independent action. It is the right word to describe amassing power against the will of the polity.

Looking forward to being part of this collection of writers and thinkers promoting the intersection of reason and emotion of a conservative bent.

About ChristaJeanne

Writer (recovering journalist), singer, Latter-day Saint, California girl, political wonk, travel addict, Broadway aficionado, American culture analyst, social media maven, Facebook junkie & wannabe domestic goddess at heart.
This entry was posted in Biographies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Curly-Haired Conservative

  1. KOOK says:

    great bio…good link to the development story.

    I am a freedom loving capitalist, so I naturally want to root for that guy, but I find it ironic that he was/is pushing the green initiative and hoping to draw people to the proposed development with a racepark…

    • ChristaJeanne says:

      Thanks, KOOK. 🙂 Yeah, it was a quirky project, to say the least… but it really did have potential. Oh, how that reporter made my blood boil! He delayed and delayed and delayed running the piece in order to take time to dig up dirt that wasn’t really there. So not cool – but so typical.

  2. Annalise Jones says:

    Very well written, the priorities part made me tear up 🙂

    • ChristaJeanne says:

      Thanks, Lisey. Amazing what a little perspective can do to put things into proper focus, isn’t it? If only there were more hours in the day to do more, but – we’ll just do what we can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

